The Avengers – Electric Recording

The Avengers were a local New Zealand pop band of the late 60s. This was their first LP & was released in 1967. They came from Wellington & had the good fortune to hook up with US hippie hitch-hiker Chris Malcolm who went on to write over half of the songs on this record, playing & singing his tunes to the band on his autoharp. Because of this connection there are more psychedelic drug inferences throughout than you would otherwise expect on a LP by a manufactured pop group of the time.

The members of the band were Clive Cockburn (no kidding), Dave Brown, Hank Davis & Eddie McDonald. The band went on to become one of the biggest local sensations of the late 60s, releasing seven 45s & three LPs in their two year period of fame. The group moved to Sydney in 69 where disenchantment over lack of royalties & inability to crack the big time in Australia resulted in the group splitting in late 69.

The Avengers – Everyone’s Gonna Wonder

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *